Watertown Public Schools is excited to share that Vjolca (Viola) Mustafi has
been chosen as the WPS 2021-22 Paraeducator of the Year! Mrs. Mustafi was
among seven outstanding paraprofessionals who were nominated by school staff.
Mrs. Mustafi immigrated to the United States from Macedonia when she was just
school-age. She was the first generation of her family to attend school in America.
It was likely these first experiences when she sat in classrooms not understanding
any English and spending the whole day trying to acclimate, that shaped Mrs.
Mustafi’s passion to work with children.

She recalls that the ‘teacher’s aides’ seemed to always be watching over her and
there to assist her with learning English, understanding the directions of the
teachers and making friends. These are some of the same contributions by Mrs.
Mustafi to the students and the staff at Polk Elementary School – an anchor to
steady the ship. Mrs. Mustafi is a longtime resident of Watertown and both of her
children have been educated in Watertown Public Schools.

She dedicates her efforts to the students and staff at Polk as though they are her own family, ensuring that she adds to their success and happiness each day. She takes initiative in all that she does which in turn results in seamless support and instruction, whether that be in a classroom, playground, small group or the lunchroom.

Mrs. Mustafi is always at the ready with high energy and creative ideas. She described her journey as a paraprofessional, tackling challenges with students and seeing them to their successes: “No matter how steep the hill, the view from the top is AMAZING.” Ms. Mustafi is one of many shining stars who provide support to students and staff across the district. Please share in our recognition of this year’s paraprofessional nominees: Rovena Cavallo (Swift); Val Kllobocishta (Swift); Oceanna Roach (Polk); Susan DiStasi (Watertown High School); Kathy Pilecki (Judson) and Susan Chowaniec (Judson). We are fortunate to have Mrs. Mustafi represent Watertown Public Schools and wish her luck in her application to be considered for the State Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Award.